Sacreeta here,
With a note for those of you in the modeling field. There appears to be a questionable company lurking out there on the Modeling and Talent Agency sites, attempting to lure models to travel overseas, inviting them to work as an usher at modeling events, with the hopes of being discovered.
It was brought to my attention today, in the form of a fan mail, and now I'm passing it along to you.
There has been some concern about a company who calls themselves Aquarius Entertainment, and according to my research, similar letters have been sent to other models. And it goes like this.
I VIEWED YOUR PROFILE AND I THINK YOU WILL FIT THIS USHERING JOB AQUARIUS ENTERTAINMENT,This is the name of our organization and our aim is to support and promote beauty pageant all over the world,we also deals in the ushering job in big events.In recent times,our organization has also support some pageant shows like Miss Malaika International,Miss Hawaiian Tropic Intl Pageant show,Sisi Oge Of Lagos,and many more. Now,our organization is about to hold a big concert in the United Kingdom and we need fifty(50) people of international standard to usher at this very big event.We are also going to introduce ten(10) best ushers among the fifty(50) who are going to usher in this event to to some top designers who are going to sign them up for a maximum of two(2) years and they will also be paid fot that period. So our organization is using this opportunity in inviting you to this great concert which is taking place on the 29th March 2007,and we will like you to see your presence there as one of the fifty(50) models who are going to take part in this urshering job. You will be sent a designer uniform made by italian designer MAX MARA, in which you are going to wear for the concert and you will also be given a total of 2,000GBP for the job and the money will be paid installmentally, i.e you will receive half of the payment before the the month of the event,and on the day of the event you will also receive your balance. An invitation will be sent to you as soon as we receive your reply in working with us on this.Also,we will bare all your transportation fee in travelling down to the venue which will be annouce to you as soon as you are ready to work on this. Looking forward for your reply P.R.O Aquarius Entertainment Jeff Cole IF INTERESTE KINDLY REPLY TO infoaquarius_entertainment01@yahoo.com
NOTE:WE WILL NEVER ASK YOU TO PAY FOR ANY FEE
My first impression was the poor manner in which it was written, it actually looks like it was put through a digital language translator, plus it wasn't really clear on what they wanted from the model.
Further investigation revealed that a lot of girls were receiving this message, and the girls, who wish to remain nameless, that had responded to him were given a form to fill out, requesting personal information. Some of the girls I talked with noted it strange that the letter had one man's name listed on the top, and at the bottom it was signed in a different name, it became clear to them, that he could be running some type of scam.
If you are contacted in your online profile, by Aquarius Entertainment offering you a job overseas, do your research, and make sure you proceed with an informed decision. The Models I spoke with put the message in the spam folder of their online talent agency inbox. No one knows exactly what it is this company is up to, but when asked for his contact information, such as phone number and web address, he broke contact. Another eyebrow raiser?
If you are serious about being a model, and want to have a secure and successful career, do two things for yourself first.
1. Attend an accredited Modeling school.
2. Hire a reputable agent.
Be safe,
Peace and Love
Sacreeta